Fandom Creation Readalikes

Fandom.svg

Trends: Fandom Creation Readalikes
For Teens

 Summary: This is for teens who LOVE fandom. This particular posts focuses on fandom-type creations – fanfiction, fanart, youtube, etc. The fandom-focused creations are main parts of the story. If you have teens who love creating for fandoms, or even just enjoying those creations – this might be the list for you. If you are looking for fan-based reads without creation, check out our Fandom post.

 Main appeal: Fantasy, Realistic, Creative, Fandom

Readalikes:

 fangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Amazon’s Description: Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

Crossover Appeal: Cath is a famous fanfiction author – teens who love fanfiction might love this crossover of their obsession.

 

eliza and her monstersEliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Amazon’s Description: Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Crossover Appeal:  Eliza created a famous webcomic based on other stories that has generated fanart of its’ own. Sometimes our online lives complicate our real lives as Eliza finds out.

 

tash hearts tolstoyTash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

Amazon’s Description: After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust in the limelight: She’s gone viral.

Her show is a modern adaption of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the 40,000 new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr gifs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever.

And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with a fellow award nominee suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual.

Crossover Appeal: Tash and her friends have created a famous web series based on a novel – basically the dream of most teen youtubers.

 

draw the lineDraw the Line by Laurent Linn

Amazon’s Description: Adrian Piper is used to blending into the background. He may be a talented artist, a sci-fi geek, and gay, but at his Texas high school those traits would only bring him the worst kind of attention.

In fact, the only place he feels free to express himself is at his drawing table, crafting a secret world through his own Renaissance-art-inspired superhero, Graphite.

But in real life, when a shocking hate crime flips his world upside down, Adrian must decide what kind of person he wants to be. Maybe it’s time to not be so invisible after all—no matter how dangerous the risk.

Crossover Appeal: Adrian not only is a great artist, in this heavily illustrated book, but the combination of fanart and social issues combines for a thought provoking read.

 

i am princess xI am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Amazon’s Description: Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X? When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Crossover Appeal: Princess X takes all the fun of fan creation and adds a thriller element for readers looking for a more fast-paced, whodunit read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Fandom Creation Readalikes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s