Fandom Readalikes

Fandom.svg

Trends: Fandom Readalikes
For Teens

Summary: This is for teens who fan about fandom. The books focus on teens who love fandom, conventions, and have chance encounters with celebrities. If you are looking for books with fanart, fanfiction, etc. check out our Fandom Creations post.

 Main appeal: Realistic, Fandom-focused, Setting-driven

Readalikes:

 queens of geekQueens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Amazon’s Description: Charlie likes to stand out. She’s a vlogger and actress promoting her first movie at SupaCon, and this is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star Reese Ryan. When internet-famous cool-girl actress Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with her best guy friend Jamie―no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about a fan contest for her favorite fandom, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Crossover Appeal: This one has everything internet-famous, Cons, friendship – it’s a fun adventure fandom read.

 improbable theoryThe Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Amazon’s Description: When Ana Watson’s brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.

In her desperation, she’s forced to enlist the last person she’d ever want to spend time with—slacker Zak Duquette—to help find her brother before morning comes.

But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. 

Crossover Appeal: Sometimes the best con experience is getting to show a noob the magic. This is a cute con-based rom com with all kinds of fan fun.

 stranger than fanfictionStranger than Fanfiction by Chris Colfer

Amazon’s Description: Cash Carter is the young, world famous lead actor of the hit television show Wiz Kids. When four fans jokingly invite him on a cross-country road trip, they are shocked that he actually takes them up on it. Chased by paparazzi and hounded by reporters, this unlikely crew takes off on a journey of a lifetime–but along the way they discover that the star they love has deep secrets he’s been keeping. What they come to learn about the life of the mysterious person they thought they knew will teach them about the power of empathy and the unbreakable bond of true friendship.

Crossover Appeal: So this is every teen fan’s dream – a roadtrip with their favie. Stranger than Fanfiction is crazy fun and reads a little like self-insert fanfic –perfect for the fan in all of us.

 fangirls guide to the galaxyThe Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

Amazon’s Description: Fandom, feminism, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—it’s never been a better time to be a girl geek. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes, including:

• How to make nerdy friends
• How to rock awesome cosplay
• How to write fanfic with feels
• How to defeat internet trolls
• How to attend your first con

Crossover Appeal: This is a non-fiction real life fandom guide. It’s got great tips for the noob and experienced fan.

 into the wildInto the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern

Amazon’s Description: Jessie is so excited to start her sophomore year of high school, with her carefully planned outfits and her ample stash of school supplies. But things take an unexpected turn when everyone in her life changes. Her two best friends have gone poseur-punk and are both flirting with her longtime crush. Her beloved older brother is about to go off to college―and he shaved his Mohawk and started dating the homecoming queen. Jessie is suddenly clique-less. When she starts chatting up a girl in homeroom, she’s surprised by an invite to join the Dungeons and Dragons crowd! Will hanging out with them make her a nerd? And when she sees how cute one of their members is, does it really matter?

Crossover Appeal: This is the OG of nerd books.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Fandom Readalikes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s