Law and Order: Special Victims Unit Readalikes

mv5byju1yty1yzitnmqyys00mwrklwfiogityjm4zgjiytkxmdg2xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyoduxotu0otg-_v1_TV Show:  Law and Order: Special Victims Unit    

Description:  Created by Emmy Award-winning producer Dick Wolf, “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit,” now in its 20th season, is the longest-running primetime drama currently on television. This hard-hitting and emotional series from NBC’s “Law & Order” brand chronicles the lives of the Special Victims Unit of the New York City Police Department, an elite squad of detectives who investigate crimes of sexual assault, child abuse and domestic violence.

As acting commander of the SVU, Lt. Olivia Benson … is a seasoned veteran of the unit who has seen it all. She leads with empathy and professionalism, all the while dealing with her difficult past as a product of rape and her future as mother to a young child, both of which influence the way she relates to the victims and perpetrators of each case…..

As Benson’s second-in-command, Sgt. Odafin “Fin” Tutuola … adds a unique sense of humor and undercover investigative experience, making him a formidable match for any partner. Det. Amanda Rollins … has earned her place as an integral part of the team while facing head-on the emotional toll it takes to work SVU, and Det. Dominick “Sonny” Carisi … brings a fresh outlook and distinctive style of investigation to the squad. Assistant District Attorney Peter Stone … joins the SVU from Chicago’s homicide division with a passion to learn from the best and honor his father’s legacy.

Readalikes for Adults

Appeals: Crime, Legal Drama, Fornesics, Suspense, Thriller, Action, Character-driven, Strong Female Characters, Headline driven


51xziu3hf-l-_sx274_bo1204203200_Postmortem (Kay Scarpetta series) by Patricia Cornwell

Amazon’s Description:  Under cover of night in Richmond, Virginia, a human monster strikes, leaving a gruesome trail of stranglings that has paralyzed the city. Medical examiner Kay Scarpetta suspects the worst: a deliberate campaign by a brilliant serial killer whose signature offers precious few clues. With an unerring eye, she calls on the latest advances in forensic research to unmask the madman. But this investigation will test Kay like no other, because it’s being sabotaged from within and someone wants her dead. 

Crossover Appeal: The Scarpetta series features a strong, female lead character, supported by a fully-realized cast of secondary characters. Each book takes an in-depth look into the particulars of a crime, and focuses strongly on the forensics of crime-solving. The stories also feature a taunt plot line, full of atmospheric tension. The length of the series allows readers to see the characters evolve and change over time, as each new case affects them, much like the many crimes seen by the SVU team affects them over the years.

51tkkvragxl-_ac_us218_Final Jeopardy (Alex Cooper series) by Linda Fairstein 

Amazon’s Description: Alexandra Cooper, Manhattan’s top sex crimes prosecutor, awakens one morning to shocking news: a tabloid headline announcing her own brutal murder. But the actual victim was Isabella Lascar, the Hollywood film star who sought refuge at Alex’s Martha’s Vineyard retreat. Was Isabella targeted by a stalker or — mistaken for Alex — was she in the wrong place at the wrong time? In an investigation that twists from the back alleys of lower Manhattan to the chic salons of the Upper East Side. Alex knows she’s in final jeopardy…and time is running out. She has to get into the killer’s head before the killer gets to her.

Crossover Appeal:The structure of the Alexander Cooper is a literary mirror to the TV show SVU; from the New York setting, to the focus on the main character’s career as a top sex crime persecutor. The books are filled with twists, legal drama, thrilling action, and a strong, character-driven plot.

51w2j0qmetl-_sx274_bo1204203200_Deja Dead: A Novel (Temperance Brennan series) by Kathy Reichs 

Amazon’s Description:  Her life is devoted to justice—even for those she never knew. In the year since Temperance Brennan left behind a shaky marriage in North Carolina, work has often preempted her weekend plans to explore Quebec. When a female corpse is discovered meticulously dismembered and stashed in trash bags, Temperance detects an alarming pattern—and she plunges into a harrowing search for a killer. But her investigation is about to place those closest to her—her best friend and her own daughter—in mortal danger…

Crossover Appeal: With a heavy emphasis on the solving of crimes from a forensics standpoint, this series of books features a strong and engaging cast of characters, thrilling and action-based plot lines, and an in-depth focus on solving the crime at hand. As a bonus, this series is the basis for the popular TV series “Bones.”

51mdfj1e8tl-_sx330_bo1204203200_Everywhere That Mary Went (Rosato & Associates series) by  Lisa Scottoline   

Amazon ‘s Description:  In New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline’s electrifying, Edgar nominated, first novel in her Rosato & Associates series, a young lawyer at an all-female law firm must stay one step ahead of a stalker who has a deadly agenda.

Mary DiNunzio has been slaving away for the past eight years trying to make partner in her cutthroat Philadelphia law firm. She’s too busy to worry about the crank phone calls she’s been getting—until they fall into a sinister pattern. The phone rings as soon as she gets to work, then as soon as she gets home.

Mary can’t shake the sensation that someone is watching her, following her every move. The shadowboxing turns deadly when her worst fears are realized, and she has to fight for something a lot more important than partnership—her life.

Crossover Appeal:  The Rosato and Associates series is one filled with plenty of thrilling action and nail-biting suspense. Each book in the series allows the characters to grow and evolve as they tackle each case. 

51etigsf1bl-_sx308_bo1204203200_Naked in Death (In Death series) by J.D. Robb 

Amazon ‘s Description:  Crime and punishment is Lieutenant Eve Dallas’s business. Murder her speciality. Named by the social worker who found her when she was a mere child roaming that city’s streets, Eve Dallas is a New York police detective who lives for her job. In over ten years on the force, she’s seen it all – and knows her survival depends on her instincts. But she’s going against every warning telling her not to get involved with Roarke, a charismatic Irish billionaire – and a suspect in Eve’s latest murder investigation. But passion and seduction have rules of their own, and it’s up to Eve to take a chance in the arms of a man she knows nothing about – except the addictive hunger of needing his touch

Crossover Appeal: Each book focuses on the many aspects of solving a horrific crime, from the initial crime scene, to interviewing witnesses, to the inevitable dealings with the press. Like SVU’s Benson, In Death’s Dallas often has to confornt her past while dealing with the crime of the present, but does not let it hold her back. Dallas is surrounded by an assortment of supporting characters that enrich and depth to the crime, and the length of the series allows you to see the characters grow and evolve over time, much like SVU does.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s