Shark Week Readalikes

Trend:  Shark Week    

Description:  With more than 20 hours of shark programming throughout the week, Shark Week 2019’s fincredible lineup will deliver all-new groundbreaking shark stories revealing remarkable insights into the mysterious world of these magnificent creatures.

Readalikes for Families

Appeals: Science, adventure, natural world, oceans and ocean creatures

Readalikes

Chomp: A Shark Romp by Michael Paul 

Amazon’s Description:  Dive in to the depths of the ocean to discover different species of sharks in this nonfiction picture book with simple text and illustrations. 

Crossover Appeal: A great read for the youngest shark lovers, this text has colorful and striking illustrations complemented by sparse text that makes for a great read-a-loud.

Inside Out Sharks by David George Gordon 

Amazon’s Description: Journey inside a shark and live to tell the tale! With Inside Out: Shark, you’ll take a three-dimensional tour through a different sharks to learn about the unique bodies of these eating machines!

Crossover Appeal: Older readers can appreciate the extensive detail in the text here, and younger readers fascinated by the scientific side of Shark Week will be equally taken by the unique design of this book.

Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting with the Great Whites of California’s Farallon Islands by Katherine Roy

Amazon’s Description:  In the fall of 2012, Katherine Roy visited the Farallons with the scientists who study the islands’ shark population. She witnessed seal attacks, observed sharks being tagged in the wild, and got an up close look at the dramatic Farallons–a wildlife refuge that is strictly off-limits to all but the scientists who work there. Neighborhood Sharks is an intimate portrait of the life cycle, biology, and habitat of the great white shark, based on the latest research and an up-close visit with these amazing animals.

Crossover Appeal: This much-lauded non-fiction picture book is captivating for all ages and the sense of action in Roy’s illustrations is just as breathtaking as any of ‘Shark Week”s television offerings.

The Line Tender by Kate Allen 

Amazon ‘s Description:  Wherever the sharks led, Lucy Everhart’s marine-biologist mother was sure to follow. In fact, she was on a boat far off the coast of Massachusetts, collecting shark data when she died suddenly. Lucy was seven. Since then Lucy and her father have kept their heads above water–thanks in large part to a few close friends and neighbors. But June of her twelfth summer brings more than the end of school and a heat wave to sleepy Rockport. On one steamy day, the tide brings a great white–and then another tragedy, cutting short a friendship everyone insists was “meaningful” but no one can tell Lucy what it all meant.

Crossover Appeal:  This middle-grade book, which is complemented by Xingye Jin’s gorgeous line illustrations that mark each chapter, is great for an all-family read-a-loud.  With its focus on emotional character development, even non- shark lovers will be drawn in by Lucy’s story.

Baby Shark by John John Bajet

Amazon’s Description:  Baby Shark has become well-known and well-loved by teachers, parents, and children everywhere. And with hilarious and adorable under-the-sea art of Baby Shark, Mama Shark, Daddy Shark, Grandma Shark, and more ocean creatures, kids won’t be able to get enough of this silly illustrated story of a shark family!

Crossover Appeal: Some of us may be as done with ‘Baby Shark’ as parents of pre-schoolers are with ‘Let It Go,’ but this picture book adaptation may just win us back with its bright and cheery illustrations.  Follow it up with Bajet’s sequel, Bedtime For Baby Shark.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s